h1

Indoor Skydiving

October 18, 2006

Over the weekend I got the chance to try this new sport which seems almost an anachronism for the term skydiving invokes jumping from a plane in open spaces and could not possibly be indoors. However thanks to new technology it is now possible to replicate the experience of freefall perfectly while never leaving the ground by more than 2/3 metres. I have been skydiving for almost 4 years now and have completed over 35 jumps in that time, which is pretty pitiful, and have been dying to try this since I first heard about it. And let me assure that this will not disappoint. The principle is that 2 huge fans push air around to track and they can adjust the speed of the air to simulate various conditions. The technology was developed for aerodynamics testing. The air is thrown round at anything from 130 mph to 180mph and you merely jump into its stream.

For those who have never leapt from a plane it will be a magical experience of flying or hovering for the first time and it like no other. My lovely girlfriend who was with me thoroughly enjoyed it and by the end of 2 minutes was able to fly unassisted and make turns which was an amazing sight. Our instructor told me that I would be able to go without his assistance and see how I did. When you enter the tunnel it is just like being a super hero. You kind of dive into the tunnel and go from standing it flying. It is surreal. For me the most interesting thing is that it added a whole new dimension to freefalling because you now had 3 dimensions in which to move in. Up until now in skydiving I have only jumped alone and so since you have nothing to fix against you can never get the sensation of moving up. In the tunnel however the freedom of movement is total. I quickly became stable and was able to explore he possibilities. After just 5 minutes I was able to fly happily at will around the tunnel. Fantastic.

I cannot recommend this enough. An experience that everyone should try

One comment

  1. Where did you do this? I think I would like to give this a try..



Leave a Reply

